An Interview with Madeline Burchard

Current Job: Community Relations OfficerIMG_0038

Scientific Discipline/Field: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math

Country: USA

Pick some letters (L,G,B,T,Q etc.): B

What does your job involve?

My job is split between running my lab’s community outreach and educational programs and running the site’s internal communications.

How did you get to this job (education etc.)?

I got this job through my experience in nonprofits and education after college. My education and background in science and lab work has made me a unique part of my team.

Do you feel being LGBT has affected your career decisions?

It has definitely affected where I can go. I have made decisions to not go to certain schools and workplaces. I’ve also had to navigate how to bring my authentic self to work and still protect myself.

Have you had any reactions from colleagues about being LGBT, either good or bad?

To my face they have been good. Some people don’t know what to do.

Did you have any role models growing up (LGBT, STEM, totally unrelated…)?

My role model was the paleobotanist from Jurassic Park. I wanted to be strong, smart, and compassionate.

What are your plans for the future?

I want to be the next Bill Nye/Carl Sagan/Neil DeGrasse Tyson.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I don’t think people realize that STEM work is much more than just the technical professionals. There is vital work being done in education and managing/running scientific institutions.

Leave a Reply

