An Interview with Adam D. J. Calow

Current Job:  Postdoctoral Research Chemist12923253_153863025008275_8401039482332212996_n

Scientific Discipline/Field: Organic synthesis, asymmetric borylation (PhD); carbohydrate chemistry and glycoconjugate vaccines (postdoc).

Country: Originally from Rotherham (UK) and now living in Berlin.

Pick some letters (L,G,B,T,Q etc.): G

LinkedIn: https://de.linkedin.com/in/adam-calow-3b0aa5103

What does your job involve?

I work as part of the vaccine subgroup under the leadership of Prof Peter H. Seeberger (MPI-KG, Potsdam). I design and make synthetic and semi-synthetic conjugate vaccines from carbohydrates.

How did you get to this job (education etc.)?

I first met my current boss when he gave his Durham lecture series back in 2013. Peter is a fantastic communicator of science and until then I’d never really appreciated carbohydrates, but he made a believer out of me. Fast forward a few years and I knew that I needed a new challenge in my life (and a job!), because doing a PhD isn’t challenging enough (right?). So I sent Peter an email, turned up for the interview and the rest is history.

Do you feel being LGBT has affected your career decisions?

It probably has, but I can’t think of anything specific.

Have you had any reactions from colleagues about being LGBT, either good or bad?

Yes and Yes, but generally really positive.

Did you have any role models growing up (LGBT, STEM, totally unrelated…)?

I’d probably say my mum; she’s made of strong stuff and is a great role model.

What are your plans for the future?

Land a lectureship at a top UK institute, change the world for the better, start brewing my own weissbier and live happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

