An interview with Kevin R Burgio

You can read Kevin’s earlier interview from 2017 here.

Name: Kevin R Burgio

Current Job: Undergraduate Program Leader and Research Specialist

Scientific Discipline/Field: Ecology, Education, & Science Communication

Country: United States

Pick some letters (L,G,B,T,Q,+, etc.): B / P

Website: https://kevinburgio.com/

Twitter or other social media handle: @KRBurgio

What does your job involve?

I coordinate two undergraduate research programs, in addition to doing education research, and ecology research. This involves dealing with the logistics and day to day management of the two programs. I also analyze data on education and mentoring, as well as continuing my own research in parrot conservation and ecology.

How did you get to this job (education etc.)?

I received a PhD in ecology / conservation biology, specializing in parrots, at the University of Connecticut. I then did a postdoc in science communication and education. Given my mix of interests and background in both education and ecology, as well as strong passion in undergraduate mentoring, I was able to get my present position.

Do you feel being LGBT has affected your career decisions?

I feel that my outspoken advocacy on LGBTQIA issues is likely to have more career decisions being made for me (by others), than me actively making decisions based upon being bisexual.

Have you had any reactions from colleagues about being LGBT, either good or bad?

Not to my face. I realize that I am extremely lucky (so far) in that regard.

Did you have any role models growing up (LGBT, STEM, totally unrelated.)?

Honestly, not really. I did not know any scientists or openly queer folks at all during my childhood. The first person I really identified with as a teen was the lead singer of the band Placebo, Brian Molko, who is openly bisexual. It was through their music and meeting my first boyfriend while in the US Air Force that really made it clear to me who I am and to not be ashamed of it.

What are your plans for the future?

I hope to land a permanent position somewhere in conservation and ecology, either as a professor, working for an NGO, or government agency. I am geographically limited to a two hour radius of where my daughter spends her weekdays, so I am open to whatever job I can find where I can leave the world a better place than I found it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: